Dauphin County reminds voters in Steelton Borough, Derry and Swatara townships of polling places changes in effect for May primary election

HARRISBURG, PA (April 27, 2018) - The Dauphin County Board of Elections reminds voters of some changes in polling places in Derry and Swatara townships, as well as Steelton Borough, that are in effect for the upcoming General Primary on May 15. Voters have been notified of all of these changes by letter and new voter certification cards issued by the Bureau of Registration and Elections.

In Derry Township, the Second Precinct polling place has been moved from the All Saints Church on Elm Street to the Hershey Library, 701 Cocoa Avenue.  Voters for the Second Precinct will use Room 2, while voters of Derry Township’s Fifth Precinct will continue to use Room 1 of the Hershey Library. This move was required for by the U.S. Department of Justice which, based on its May 2015 survey of polling places in the county, determined that the church was not compliant with the federal Americans with Disabilities Act.  Additionally, this move was requested by the current host.

In Swatara Township, in response to a Feb. 28 order by the Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas, the Board approved a redistricting of four of the township’s previous election districts and the creation of a Tenth Precinct.  No changes were made to the boundaries of the First, Second, Third, Fourth of Seventh precincts, and voters will not have any changes in polling places.  However, changes were made to the boundaries of the former Fifth, Sixth, Eighth and Ninth precincts, and some voters will be reporting to new polling places.  As for the Tenth Precinct, the polling place was established as the Waterford at Summit View’s Community Room, 8201 Presidents Drive, Hummelstown, PA 17036.

In Steelton Borough, the Dauphin County Court of Common Pleas approved a request to merge the former election districts of Steelton 2nd Ward/1st Precinct and 2nd Ward/2nd Precinct into Ward 2; and Steelton 3rd Ward/1st Precinct and 3rd Ward/2nd Precinct into Ward 3.  Following the Court’s approval, the Board of Elections established the Second Ward’s polling place as Trinity Lutheran Church, 221 S. 2nd St.; and the Third Ward’s polling place as the Steelton Volunteer Fire Company, 184 N. Front St.

Voters in Susquehanna Township’s Fifth Ward will remain voting at the Susquehanna Township Middle School, 801 Wood St., but the polling site will move back to the library entrance instead of the main entrance. While no mailing was issued on this move, additional signage will be placed in front of the school directing voters to the alternate entrance that is a few hundred feet west from the main entrance.

For a complete listing of polling places, visit the Dauphin County website www.DauphinCounty.org and click on the Elections and Voter Registration icon. For additional questions, the Elections Bureau can be reached at 717-780-6360.