Dauphin County Elections Bureau changes several polling places for Nov. 5 election

HARRISBURG, PA (October 17, 2019) - With the November 5th General Election approaching, the Dauphin County Board of Elections reminds voters that polling place changes were made in seven election districts in the City of Harrisburg, as well as Londonderry Township’s 1st Precinct and Swatara Township’s 10th Precinct.  Voters were notified of these changes by new voter certification cards issued by the Bureau of Registration and Elections, as well as a postcard.

All polling place changes were part of Dauphin County’s ongoing effort to comply with a settlement agreement in relation to the Americans with Disabilities Act signed between the U.S. Department of Justice and the county.  The settlement agreement, signed in 2018, was the result of a survey of 52 polling places in Dauphin County for compliance with ADA access regulations.  Of the 52 surveys, only two passed the measurements, 34 were found to be non-compliant but able to be remedied with temporary measures to enable ADA access and 16 were found to be non-compliant and unable to be remedied with temporary measures.

Since the release of the USDOJ’s survey results in 2016, Dauphin County has moved or provided temporary remedies for nearly 50 polling places serving its 159 election districts polling places and has merged several election districts to eliminate the need to move some polling places.

The Board of Elections, on October 2, approved moving the following polling places:

Harrisburg 1-1

UPMC Pinnacle Health/Life Team Facility

1000 Paxton St.

(Cameron Street Entrance side of the building)

Harrisburg, PA 17104      


Harrisburg 4

MLK Jr. City Government Building

10 North Second St.


Harrisburg, PA 17101


Harrisburg 7-2

Downey Elementary School Cafeteria

1313 Monroe St.

Harrisburg, PA 17103


Harrisburg 9-4

John Harris High School Field House – Door #10

2451 Market St. (South 25th Street Side)

Harrisburg, PA 17103


Harrisburg 10-1

Goodwin Memorial Baptist Church Family Life Center

2430 North Third St.

(Rear Social Hall Entrance)

Harrisburg, PA 17110


Harrisburg 10-3

Scottish Rite Cathedral

2701 North Third St.

West Side of Ballroom

Harrisburg, PA 17110


Harrisburg 10-4

Scottish Rite Cathedral

2701 North Third St.

East Side of Ballroom

Harrisburg, PA 17110


Londonderry 1

Living Hope Church

3030 Schoolhouse Road

Middletown, PA 17057


Swatara 10

Vietnam Veterans Bingo Hall

8000 Derry St.

Harrisburg, PA 17111

Additionally, voters in the following four election districts will continue to vote at the same building, but may be required to use alternative entrances or rooms to meet ADA requirements:

  • Harrisburg 6: Susquehanna Art Museum.  The polling place will move from the lobby to the Education Center and continue to be entered through the main doors.
  • Harrisburg 9-3: Edison Village.  The polling place will move from the large community room, which was accessed from Chestnut Street, to the smaller meeting room accessed from the South 18th Street side of the building.
  • Lower Paxton 24: Linglestown Elementary.  The polling place will remain in the cafeteria, but the entrance will move to the bus drop-off which faces North Mountain Road.
  • Swatara 7: Lawnton Elementary. The polling place will move to the cafeteria (formerly the gymnasium) and be accessed through the main entrance off Franklin Street.

For a complete listing of polling places, including maps showing the boundaries of each election district, visit www.DauphinCounty.org and then > Government > Election & Voter Registration > Polling Places. For additional questions, call the Elections Bureau at 717-780-6360.