Dauphin County Commissioners issue disaster declaration in the wake of significant flooding

HARRISBURG, PA (July 26, 2018, 5 p.m.) – Commissioners Jeff Haste, Mike Pries and George P. Hartwick, III have issued a disaster declaration for Dauphin County in the wake of severe flooding that caused numerous road and bridge closures, evacuations and property damage in several areas. 

A disaster declaration removes restrictions for purchasing, allowing government entities to quickly acquire the resources during an emergency.

Since Sunday, July 22, 10-plus inches of rain has fallen in Dauphin County, causing the Swatara Creek and other tributaries to reach major flood stage and the Susquehanna River to reach minor flood stage.

The following municipalities in Dauphin County also issued disaster declarations due to flooding:

  • Dauphin Borough/Middle Paxton Township
  • Derry Township
  • East Hanover Township
  • Elizabethville Borough
  • Jackson Township
  • Jefferson Township
  • Lower Paxton Township
  • Londonderry Township
  • Lykens Borough
  • South Hanover Township
  • Swatara Township
  • Washington Township
  • Wayne Township
  • Williamstown  Borough

The commissioners and emergency management officials are coordinating with municipal officials to assess damages throughout the county.