Dauphin County 2020 Craig Webb Memorial Award for Exemplary Service


Three first responders earn Dauphin County’s 2020 Craig Webb Memorial Award for exemplary service

HARRISBURG, PA (Dec. 9, 2020) Three first responders who represent “the best of the badge” received the 2020 Craig Webb Memorial Award for their life-saving efforts during a special ceremony at today’s Dauphin County Commissioners’ meeting.

The Webb awards are presented to exceptional area first responders who exemplify the spirit of Craig Webb, who died suddenly during the 2004 holiday season. Webb’s distinguished career included service as a firefighter and chief of paramedics in Lower Swatara Township, a Dauphin Borough police officer, and a Dauphin County deputy coroner.

Recognized by the Commissioners for their exemplary public service were:

  • Brian Walborn, Law Enforcement Leader of the Year: Walborn, described by his peers as a true “cop’s cop,” will retire in March as a detective from the county’s Criminal Investigations Department (CID). A U.S. Army veteran, before joining CID, Walborn was a Harrisburg police officer and a member of the county Crisis Response Team (CRT). As a CRT member, he showed extraordinary heroism in a stand-off and gun battle in Hall Manor in 2012.
  • Gene Vance, Fire and Rescue Leader of the Year: Vance has served as Steelton’s fire chief since 1998 and as member of the department for almost 50 years. Vance’s career with the borough’s fire service began with the Baldwin Fire Company, which later merged with several other Steelton-area departments.
  • Garrett Miller, EMS Provider of the Year: Miller has served as the Williamstown Area EMS chief for 15 years and is a field training officer for the Harrisburg police, where he was an officer for two decades. He is a former county 911 dispatcher and had the honor of serving under Craig Webb while working for the Lower Swatara Township EMS.

Walborn and Vance were unable to attend today’s ceremony and will receive their plaque and proclamation at a later date.

“These three men are heroes, and during this pandemic, the magnitude of their selflessness is magnified,” said Commissioner Mike Pries, who has oversight of the county Emergency Management Agency.  “These awardees remind us of the daily sacrifices of all of our police officers, firefighters, and EMTs, who drop everything at a moment’s notice to help others.” 

Winners of the award, established in 2005, are selected by the local police, fire and EMS councils. The names of award recipients are displayed on a memorial plaque, which hangs at the county's Emergency Management Agency.

“If you add up the years, we are witnessing more than a century of remarkable public service,” said board Chairman Jeff Haste. “These three are everyday heroes who often go unrecognized, but who answer the call at all hours of the day and night, and then go above and beyond the call of duty.”

Commissioner George P. Hartwick, III, a Steelton native, said Chief Vance embodies the borough’s fire department's spirit.

“I know Chief Vance well, and he is a fixture in our town,” Hartwick said. “All three honorees are the best of the badge. We are grateful for their willingness to serve.”

Stephen Libhart, director of the county’s Emergency Management Agency, said the three personified the traits for which Craig Webb was known: “Always wanting to get in on the action; always willing to fight evil with good; never willing to sit on the sidelines when someone needs help.’’

           Garrett Miller receiving Webb award from Commissioners

Garrett Miller, EMS Provider of the Year, receives The 2020 Craig Webb Memorial Award from commissioners George P. Hartiwck, III, Jeff Haste and Mike Pries. The other two nominees, Brian Walborn, Law Enforcement Leader of the Year, and Gene Vance, Fire and Rescue Leader of the Year, were unable to attend today’s ceremony.