Sign In
​Marriage License FAQ

Requirements and Guidelines for Applying for a Marriage License

 

 

WHO must apply?
  • Anyone wishing to marry in Pennsylvania must obtain a Pennsylvania Marriage License.  You cannot use a Pennsylvania marriage license to get married in another state or country.

WHAT are the REQUIREMENTS to obtain a marriage license?

  • Both applicants must appear together in person to complete the application for a marriage license. 
  • Applicants must provide their social security number.
  • Photo Identification, such as Driver’s License, Passport, or Non-Driver’s Photo ID is required of both applicants.
  • If you have been married before, a divorce decree or date of death of your deceased spouse must be presented at the time of application.
    • Proof of name change is required if name on divorce decree is different than name on photo ID.
  • Applicants must provide information about the bride, groom, and both of the bride and groom’s parents such as: 
    • Parents’ full names, including mother’s maiden name
    • Place of Birth
    • Current Residence
    • Occupation
  • There is a $60.00 filing fee which must be paid in CASH.
  • Blood relatives including first cousins, may not marry under the laws of Pennsylvania.  For other prohibitions, check with the Clerk of the Orphans’ Court.

IS a BLOOD TEST required in order to obtain a marriage license?

  • No, a blood test is not required to obtain a marriage license. 

WHAT are the AGE REQUIREMENTS to obtain a marriage license?

  • Both applicants must be 18 years of age or older.
  • Applicants between 16-18 years of age must have a custodial parent or legal guardian present to consent to the marriage application.
  • Applicants under 16 years of age must have both written Court approval and meet the custodial parent requirements
  • Consenting parent must have proper identification.

WHAT are the TIME REQUIREMENTS for the marriage license?

  • Pennsylvania law requires a minimum 3 day waiting period after application is made before a license is effective.
  • Marriage licenses are valid for 60 days from the date of issuance.

ARE there any OTHER CONSIDERATIONS in obtaining a marriage license?

  • Anyone planning on marrying outside of Pennsylvania must contact that state, territory, or country directly.  Legal requirements of that jurisdiction apply.

WHEN and WHERE may I apply for a marriage license?

  • Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30* p.m. at the Dauphin County Courthouse in the Register of Wills and Clerk of the Orphans’ Court Office:
    101 Market Street, Room 103
    Harrisburg, PA  17101
    Phone: 717-780-6506
  • On the first and third Wednesdays of the month, from 9:00 a.m. – 4:30* p.m. at the Northern Dauphin Human Services Center:
    295 State Drive
    Elizabethville, PA  17023
    Phone: 717-905-2700, ext. 2507

*Please arrive before 4:00 p.m. so that we have time to process your application.

Copyright © 2002-2012 Dauphin County. All Rights Reserved.
HIPAA Privacy Notice | Privacy Policy | PA State Website
webmaster@dauphinc.org

Dauphin County is Social

County of Dauphin, Department of Information Technology
2 South Second Street, Fifth Floor
Harrisburg, PA 17101-1295
Contact Dauphin County | County Phone Numbers
Employees Only